Up to 6 years, Montessori at home: why and how?

To practice Montessori at home is to encourage the child's autonomy

Montessori education is a state of mind that pushes the adult to bring the world within the reach of the other and of the child in particular. It is not just about materials, it is an applied philosophy. You can easily organise your flat or house so that your home is "Montessorian".

Getting in and out of bed alone

Bed
Getting up or going to bed alone

Your child should be able to get up or lie down on his own without risking injury. For example, you can put the mattress on the floor. It is also important that your child feels contained on at least two sides: use the wall or firm cushions along the length and width of the mattress.

Choose clothes from 2-3 prepared outfits

Clothing
Choosing your clothes

In a drawer or on a shelf at his or her height, prepare 2-3 clearly visible seasonal outfits that you change so that your child can choose between them every day.

Of course the clothes themselves have been chosen for the ease with which he can put them on by himself (no buttons on the back, no laces, no turtlenecks, ...).

Learning hygiene by doing "almost" yourself

Hygiene
The children's washbasin

Make sure your child can wash their hands, brush their teeth, bathe, go to the toilet, with the least amount of assistance from you.

For example, a generation of children called the bidets that had fallen into disuse for adults ' the children's washbasin '. They washed their hands in them with the soap and towel that were left within their reach.

School registration

Join our school now!

Putting on and putting away coats and shoes

Coats
Storing coats and shoes

Make sure that coats and shoes have an accessible place for your child. Putting on and putting away coats and shoes is a "big job" for a young child and it is important that this job can be done as easily and ergonomically as possible.

For example, place coat hooks at the child's height. If a coat hanger is to be used, plan to have a coffee table nearby, as your child does not yet have the coordination to hold the hanger with one hand and put on the coat with the other.

Mastering everyday gestures

Controlling your movements
Controlling everyday actions

Opening a cupboard, opening and closing a door, using a dustbin - these are everyday actions that adults do and pass on, but rarely at the speed of the child. Your child observes, but from his or her seat it is difficult to understand the exact movement required.

Take the time to show them, have them repeat it and then insist on what is important: "gently", "quietly", "all the way down"... The aim is to get your child to refine their movements, gain better control of their motor skills and get into the habit of doing things fully.

Tidy up your room!

Tidy up your room!
At 6 years of age, we tidy up our room

The request seems natural to you and the implementation obvious. Of course, your child understands the expected result, but he/she can only implement a strategy if it has been transmitted to him/her.

From the age of 6 onwards, the child may even respond with a sincere "But how do I do it?" which makes it clear that the request should have been something like: "Please tidy up your room and therefore pick up every object that is lying on the floor and put it back in its place".

Some simple ideas to keep in mind for living Montessori at home

  • The activity offered to the child should correspond to his or her strength, size and level of development. For example, a 6-month-old puts markers in his mouth but does not write spontaneously. The 3-year-old needs to write but, lacking paper, may start drawing on a wall. The 8 year old will probably take the pens apart to answer the question "how does it work".
  • Stimulation is necessary but its abuse is harmful. Material offered too early or too late is lost material. Indeed, a child who cannot reproduce the necessary gesture becomes discouraged and turns away from the material. Bringing them back to the material will require a lot of tact. Material that is too easy or that calls on outdated sensitive periods is of no interest. For example, after the age of 4, rough letters do not move the child.
  • Let him repeat it, it is the beginning of concentration. Look at his or her calmness while washing hands several times: the child under 6 is less interested in the goal - having clean hands - than in the action - washing hands - and in doing so his or her state of concentration must be preserved.
  • Carry it with your eyes and the attention you give it. You are probably familiar with the "look how I.... "and "I'm going to ...., you're looking at me right?!", so when you say "yes" don't get distracted or answer truthfully "as soon as I'm done...".
  • Children are happy to reproduce a gesture they have seen an adult do and they always try to repeat it, so beware of dangerous behaviour! Before the age of 3, children should not have looked at a screen and, until the age of 5, screen time is time lost for their intellectual, motor and psychological development*.
  • Let the child walk. Walking teaches children to coordinate their movements and allows them to increase and strengthen the connections between their right and left brains, thereby facilitating the development of their intelligence.
  • Let the child handle the fork himself. By handling the fork, the child learns to coordinate and refine his or her movements while strengthening his or her ability to concentrate.

In fact, simply let the child be a full member of the family; let him or her participate in family life whenever possible.

Screen or no screen?

The "3-6-9-12" rule
relayed by the Association Française de Pédiatrie Ambulatoire (AFPA)

4 steps to a better future:
4 beats without screens

My child and screens

Information video on screen management for children

Visits by appointment to our school in Neuilly-sur-Seine located at 24 bis rue de la ferme 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine ➤

Jusqu’à 6 ans, Montessori à la maison : pourquoi et comment ?

Pratiquer Montessori à la maison, c’est favoriser l’autonomie de l’enfant

La pédagogie Montessori est un état d’esprit qui pousse l’adulte à mettre le monde à la portée de l’autre et de l’enfant en particulier. Elle ne se résume pas à du matériel, c’est une philosophie appliquée. Vous pouvez facilement organiser votre appartement ou votre maison de façon à ce que votre foyer soit “montessorien”.

Monter ou descendre seul du lit

Lit
Se lever ou se coucher seul

Votre enfant doit pouvoir se lever ou se coucher seul sans risquer de se blesser. Vous pouvez par exemple poser le matelas par terre. Il est aussi important qu’il se sente contenu sur au moins deux côtés : utilisez le mur ou des coussins fermes sur une longueur et une largeur du matelas.

Choisir ses vêtements parmi 2-3 tenues préparées

Vêtements
Choisir ses vêtements

Dans un tiroir ou sur une étagère à sa hauteur, préparez 2-3 tenues de saison bien visibles que vous renouvelez de façon à ce que chaque jour votre enfant puisse choisir entre l’une d’elles.

Bien entendu les vêtements eux-mêmes ont été choisis pour la facilité avec laquelle il peut les enfiler seul (pas de boutons dans le dos, de lacets, de cols roulés, …).

Apprendre l’hygiène en faisant « quasi » tout seul

Hygiène
Le lavabo des enfants

Assurez-vous que votre enfant puisse se laver les mains, se brosser les dents, se laver, aller aux toilettes, en ayant le moins besoin de votre assistance.

À titre d’exemple une génération d’enfants a nommé les bidets dont l’usage était tombé en désuétude pour les adultes « le lavabo des enfants ». Ils s’y lavaient les mains grâce au savon et à la serviette qui étaient laissés à leur portée.

Inscription à l'école

Rejoignez notre école dès maintenant !

Mettre et ranger ses manteaux et chaussures

Manteaux
Ranger manteaux et chaussures

Assurez-vous que manteaux et chaussures aient une place accessible pour votre enfant. Mettre et ranger manteaux et chaussures est « un grand travail » pour le jeune enfant et il est important que ce travail puisse se dérouler de la façon la plus simple et ergonomique possible.

Par exemple, installez des patères à sa hauteur. Si un cintre doit être utilisé, prévoyez d’installer une table basse à proximité car votre enfant ne coordonne pas encore suffisamment ses deux mains pour tenir le cintre d’une main et enfiler le manteau de l’autre.

Maîtriser les gestes du quotidien

Maîtriser ses gestes
Maîtriser ses gestes du quotidien

Ouvrir un placard, ouvrir et fermer une porte, utiliser une poubelle sont des gestes de la vie courante que l’adulte fait et transmet mais rarement à la vitesse de l’enfant. Votre enfant observe mais de sa place il peut difficilement comprendre le mouvement exact nécessaire.

Prenez le temps de lui montrer, de le faire répéter puis d’insister sur ce qui est important : « doucement », « sans bruit », « jusqu’en bas »… Le but est d’amener votre enfant à raffiner ses mouvements, d’acquérir une meilleure maîtrise de sa motricité et de prendre l’habitude de faire les choses pleinement.

Range ta chambre !

Range ta chambre !
A 6 ans on range sa chambre

La requête vous semble naturelle et la mise en oeuvre évidente. Certes, votre enfant comprend le résultat attendu mais il ne peut mettre en oeuvre une stratégie que si elle lui a été transmise.

À partir de 6 ans l’enfant peut même répondre d’un sincère “Mais comment faire ?” qui fait comprendre que la demande aurait dû être du type : “S’il te plait range ta chambre et pour cela ramasse chaque objet qui traine par terre et remet le à sa place”.

Quelques idées simples à garder en mémoire pour vivre Montessori à la maison

  • L’activité proposée à l’enfant doit correspondre à sa force, sa taille et son niveau de développement. Ainsi, l’enfant de 6 mois met les feutres à la bouche mais n’écrit pas spontanément. L’enfant de 3 ans a besoin d’écrire mais, faute de papier, risque d’entreprendre de dessiner sur un mur. L’enfant de 8 ans, lui, va démonter probablement les feutres pour répondre à « comment ça marche ».
  • La stimulation est nécessaire mais son abus est néfaste. Un matériel proposé trop tôt ou trop tard, est un matériel perdu. En effet, l’enfant qui n’arrive pas à reproduire le geste nécessaire se décourage et se détourne du matériel. Le ramener vers ce matériel demandera beaucoup de tact. Un matériel trop facile ou faisant appel à des périodes sensibles dépassées n’a pas d’intérêt. Ainsi, passé l’âge de 4 ans, les lettres rugueuses n’émeuvent que peu l’enfant.
  • Laissez le répéter, c’est le commencement de la concentration. Regardez son calme en se lavant les mains plusieurs fois : l’enfant de moins de 6 ans s’intéresse moins au but- avoir les mains propres – qu’à l’action – se laver les mains- et ce faisant son état de concentration doit être préservé.
  • Portez-le par votre regard et l’attention que vous lui portez. Vous êtes certainement familier du “regarde comment je…. ” et du “je vais faire …., tu me regardes hein ?!”, alors quand vous dites “oui” ne vous laissez pas distraire ou répondez franchement “dès que j’aurais fini … “.
  • L’enfant est heureux de reproduire un geste qu’il a vu faire par un adulte et il essaie toujours de le répéter alors gare aux comportements dangereux ! Avant 3 ans, l’enfant ne devrait pas avoir déjà regardé un écran et, jusqu’à 5 ans, le temps consacré à l’écran est du temps perdu pour son développement intellectuel, moteur et psychique.*
  • Laissez marcher l’enfant. Marcher apprend à l’enfant à coordonner ses mouvements et lui permet d’augmenter et renforcer les connections entre son cerveau droit et son cerveau gauche, facilitant de ce fait le développement de son intelligence.
  • Laissez l’enfant manipuler lui-même sa fourchette. Par le maniement de cet objet, il apprend à coordonner et raffiner ses mouvements tout en renforçant sa capacité de concentration.

En fait, laissez tout simplement l’enfant être un membre à part entière de la famille ; laissez le participer à la vie de celle-ci chaque fois que cela est possible.

Écran ou pas écran ?

La règle « 3-6-9-12 »
relayée par l’Association Française de Pédiatrie Ambulatoire (AFPA)

4 pas pour mieux avancer :
4 temps sans écrans

Mon enfant face aux écrans

Vidéo d'information sur la gestion des écrans pour les enfants

ultricies felis et, commodo dolor vulputate, venenatis suscipit ut consectetur dictum

SAMEDI 14 DÉCEMBRE à partir de 16h30 dans notre école de Neuilly-sur-Seine située au 24 bis rue de la ferme 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine ➤